JKUAT at a glance

An Introduction to Postgraduate Education at JKUAT

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) started as a middle level College in 1981. As a result of its growth and expansion, it acquired the status of a fully-fledged University in 1994 through an Act of parliament. In 2013, the University was re- chartered. Such growth has seen the University hold a total of thirty three (33) graduations with increased demands in line with the University mandate based on offering transparent and quality services to her customers. All the Academic programmes offered at JKUAT are quality programmes which have been developed based on both:

  1. Needs assessment
  2. Stakeholders’ views.

Currently, JKUAT has 374 CUE accredited programmes. These include certificates, Diplomas, Bachelors, Masters and Doctorate. There exists a fully established Directorate of Academic Quality Assurance, which among other duties pertaining quality, ensures that all programmes are developed and conducted as per the Commission of Universities Education standards and guidelines. The Board of Postgraduate Studies (BPS), led by a director, has the responsibility of ensuring that the conduct of Postgraduate programmes is per the University statutes adhering to the University standards and guidelines.

Postgraduates enrollment by college,  June 2021

Institutes (IBR, IEET) 0 38 22 60
College of Agriculture and Natural Resource (C0ANRE) 0 122 41 163
College of Human Resources Development (COHRED) 2286 5182 1903 9371
College of Engineering and Technology(COETEC) 0 164 49 213
College of Pure and Applied Sciences (COPAS) 9 1019 194 1222
College of Health Sciences (CoHES) 0 411 119 530
TOTAL 2295 6936 2328 11559